User Rights are managed by clicking on 'Users' from the Savvy Tools menu. From this interface you may manage many aspects of users, their rights, groups and site wide rights. Note that Group Rights and Site Wide Rights are also available and may sometimes conflict. See the Rights Hierarchy for more information about precedence of user rights.
To edit a specific users rights click on edit next to their name. This will bring up a window with many options that you can configure for each user of the CMS.
The first section deals with the users name, password, and basic permissions.
Add Pages - Allow a user the ability to create new pages. They will be able to create pages based off of templates they have been given rights to. See Template User Rights for more details. If a user has no templates listed when they click on 'add page' they need those templates assigned to them under the Template management area.
Delete Pages - Users with this ability will be able to delete pages within the CMS. Any page deleted can be undeleted through the site map option.
Manage Templates - Users will be able to add new templates, edit them, assign rights, and remove templates. Typically only for administrators or high lvl developer roles.
Upload Files - The ability to upload images and files through the editor.
Manage Files - Ability to edit, rename, and move files within the editor interface.
Manage Users - Typically used only by administrators this allows someone to create new users, edit user rights, and create groups. This is typically only given to administrator lvl users.
Rebuild Pages - This is only used when a template has changed and the pages built from that template need to be updated. Typically only used by administrators and web developer roles.
Edit Meta Data - The ability to edit the title, keywords, and description of each page in the cms.
The next section is specific to the editor rights for that user.
Max File Size - the number of bytes a user can upload. 1024 = 1MB
Folder List - These are folders to deny a user, or inversely the only folders a user can see. Useful when a user is creating links or uploading files through the editor.
File Browsing Allowed Types: These document types are the kind of files a user can upload and link to.
File Browsing Default Directory: Typically blank which is the root of the web site. You can specify a folder name which forces users to only see documents in a specific folder. Only one folder is allowed to be entered.
Image/Media File Types: These are the file types allowed to be inserted as an image or media file. By default all standard images and videos/flash are allowed.
Image/Media Default Directory: The default directory for images and other media to be stored. Typically the Images folder.
Content Templates: Where content templates are stored.
The next section is a means of specifying which buttons in the editor the user may see. If they are not checked off, the user will not see the button. For example if you want to prevent a user from changing the font size you would have fontsize_list unchecked.